My Winter Essentials

Snuggled up in a fuzzy sweater and comfy socks, getting warm by the fireplace with a fresh mug of hot chocolate in hand – yes winter is my favorite season of the year! Yet winter time brings some challenges of its own, like dry skin, chapped lips, and flu season (yuck!). During the past couple months of the winter season, I’ve had a few go-to essential products and thought I’d share some of them with you to help you survive the winter season and enjoy it as much as I do.

pBBW1-10388219v275.jpgpBBW1-10388167v275.jpg

1. Bath & Body Works stress relief & sleep line of lotions

Lotion is a necessity in the cold winter months which drys up your skin! I use a lotion after I get out of the shower, and right before bed. My go-to morning lotion lately has been the stress relief with hints of eucalyptus and spearmint. According to aromatherapy these ingredients and aromas are supposed to trigger parts of the brain that uplift and reduce stress which is also great for this time of the year.

At bed time, I use the lavender and vanilla “sleep” lotion. It is a very calming scent that is also supposed to calm stress and enhance your sleep. I’m not sure if it’s really the aromatherapy working its magical wonders or just a placebo effect, but I definitely feel calm and refreshed after using it and hopping into bed.

8005519_fpx.jpg

2. Jo Malone Perfumeย 

I’m not someone who sticks to one perfume scent all the time. I enjoy switching it up. This past month, I’ve been gravitating toward Jo Malone’s line of perfumes and particularly the grapefruit scent. It is actually not an overwhelming fruity scent (which just wouldn’t feel like winter to me), and it lasts all day. If you’re looking for even more of a scent that just screams winter, I would also recommend the nutmeg and ginger scent.

Anastasia-Beverly-Hills-Dipbrow-Pomade-chocolate-review.jpg

3. Anastasia Beverly Hills brow pomade

I’m not quite sure why but there is definitely a brow craze sweeping the nation. Everyone is searching for the perfectly defined brow. The perfectly sculpted brow. The perfect “brows on fleek,” look. I admit, I am one of those people. I’ve been experimenting with my makeup lately, minimizing the overall amount I use and focusing a lot on my brows. My favorite product has by-far been the Anastasia Beverly Hills brow pomade. I use a brow brush I purchased from Sephora which gives me a lot more control over the application than a typical brow-pencil would. Ladies, look no further. Trust me.

Ultra-Glossy-_Fairy_Floss_1024x1024.png

4. ColourPop Fairy Floss gloss

Another craze that has swept the nation is matte lipstick. I have also fallen prey to the allure of having that Kylie Jenner-esque lip look, but let’s be realistic. It’s winter time and winter time drys your lips, so using a lipstick that also is notorious for drying out your lips is just a big mistake. Huge (as Julia Roberts would say). I recently tried out ColourPop’s gloss line, particularly in the color “fairy floss,” and fell in love. The color is pigmented enough to use alone and gives you a perfectly glossed nude lip-look that Kim Kardashian has famously made trendy lately.

pBBW1-24675950v850.jpg

5. Winter candle from Bath & Body Works

I have to admit, I am still going through Christmas withdrawals. I’ve put away my tree and turned off the music, but I still need a trace of it in my life to slowly wean myself off Christmas-season mode. This candle is advertised as having hints of “white woods, pine needles, sparkling clementine, & spiced clove.” So it definitely smells a bit like Christmas, but is not an overtly Christmas-themed candled. It’s the perfect way to mask my obsession with Christmas after the season is long over in a way that is socially acceptable (and it smells wonderful).

Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 12.31.00 PM.png

6. BootayBagย 

I’ve never tried a subscription service before, and stumbled across BootayBag on Instagram! For just $12 a month, they send you two pairs of panties according to your favorite personal style. I recently received mine in the mail and was pleasantly surprised. Not only are they super cute (on par with Victoria’s Secret or other popular brands), they are also very comfortable. For $12 a month, you really can’t get any better. As a girl who’s constantly buying new underwear and loves finding new ways I can add a little luxury to my life, this definitely makes my essential list complete.

Share what your winter essentials are in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “My Winter Essentials

Leave a Reply

