DIY Healthier Starbucks Matcha Latte Recipe

Lately I’ve been absolutely obsessed with the green powdery nectar of the tea gods. Formally known as matcha, but whatever. Matcha has some amazing health benefits, including speeding up your metabolism and helping to burn calories, boosting your energy, delivering a burst of antioxidants, aiding in concentration, and helping to naturally detoxify your body (to name just a few of the good ones). Since my addiction to Starbucks iced green tea lattes was getting slightly (or more than slightly) out of hand, I decided to try a shot at my own iced matcha latte recipe, and I was not disappointed. I modified one I found online, and thought I’d share it with my fellow tea lovers out there. Bonus points: it actually has less calories and healthier ingredients than the Starbucks brand one.

Recipe

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons powdered matcha (I bought mine off of Amazon here ) Note: I love the matcha taste, but if it’s too strong you can cut it in half to one teaspoon

A handful of ice

1 cup of almond milk (you can use any kind of milk you prefer)

1 tablespoon of honey

Steps:

Step 1: Place all the ingredients EXCEPT the ice into a blender and blend it until it’s smooth

Step 2: Transfer to a cup and fill with ice

Step 3: Enjoy the matcha goodness

 

It’s honestly that simple! It’s so much cheaper to make than running to Starbucks every day, and I genuinely enjoy this homemade version as much as the designer coffee brand. Let me know if you try it out and like it, or if you have another way of enjoying matcha. I’m trying to explore different recipes I can make with the matcha powder.

2 thoughts on “DIY Healthier Starbucks Matcha Latte Recipe

Leave a Reply

